Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Sundry

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith released her debut album Euclid earlier in 2015. It is inspired by early electronic music pioneers and also by mbira music (see the post about the Zimbabwean mbira musician Chiwoniso).

From the description at the westernvinyl website:

“Each of the first six songs on Euclid were initially structured using euclidean geometry, an idea which Smith explored while attending a class at the San Francisco Conservatory. As Smith explains, “We each chose a 3D shape and assigned our own guidelines to the different components that make up the shape. For example each point of the shape represents a different time signature, each line between the points represents a pitch, each shape within the closed lines represents a scale, etc. And then you play the shape.” Despite their heady geometric origins, the songs have a playfulness and warmth that makes them inviting and memorable. In addition to the buoyant grooves of Smith’s synthesizers, some of the songs feature wordless vocals, which energize the otherworldly songs, while grounding them with Smith’s earthly presence.”


  1. Careen
  2. Wide Awake
  3. Stunts
  4. Sundry
  5. Glide
  6. Escapade
  7. Labyrinth I
  8. Labyrinth II
  9. Labyrinth III
  10. Labyrinth IV
  11. Labyrinth V
  12. Labyrinth VI
  13. Labyrinth VII
  14. Labyrinth VIII
  15. Labyrinth IX
  16. Labyrinth X
  17. Labyrinth XI
  18. Labyrinth XII

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s